Cycle 3 – Activity 3: Gameplay & Player Stories

Task 1

Player assumes a role of a prisoner escaping a prison. The environment is near pitch black and the player is provided with a source of light such as glow stick, torch or flashlight. The goal of course is to escape from the prison using their given source of light to navigate around the area. Player has the ability to control their source of light as well as the option to attack the guards. They must find a key to exit the area as the exit door is locked. The light is source is limited as in glow stick has a limited quantity, torch and flashlight has their limited usage time.

Task 2

Game Concept Statement

The goal of the game is for the player to reach the exit. In order to exit and achieve the goal, player must manoeuvre the near pitch black area using the provided source of light, avoiding or attacking guards is preference. The challenges of this game are the guards patrolling the area, locate the hidden key to open the exit and the limited vision the player has. The game took place in a prison where the player is a prisoner trying to escape that prison.

Task 3

As a player, I have to manoeuvre the dark environment in order to find the exit.

Playing as a prisoner, I have to locate and take the key to unlock the exit and escape.

Playing as a prisoner, I must use my glow stick or flashlight to illuminate the area around me so I can see what’s going on.

Playing as a prisoner, I must avoid getting caught by the guards patrolling the area.

As a player, I must be conservative of my light source so that I don’t run out and make the game harder.

Playing as a prisoner, I can use my fist to knock out the guards so that I can pass through.

Playing as a prisoner, I can hide and avoid getting caught by the guards so that I can pass through.

As a player, I must avoid the guards so that I don’t get caught and lose the game.

Playing as a prisoner, I must throw around my glow sticks to see further ahead of me.

Playing as a prisoner, I must recollect my thrown glow sticks to restock my resources.

As a player, I must  wait some time for the my flashlight battery to recharge so it can be used again.

Task 4

The target audience is Bob, who has an interest in indie games and also very versatile on considering what game is fun for him. He can play game up to 3 hours each session and his iPad is one of his gaming platform. Starcraft was one of his favourite game, the aspects of strategy, conservation and patience is similar to what our game has.

Our prison escape game is considered an indie game, which will attract Bob into playing it on his iPad.

Each stages in the game does not take very long to complete, considering his available playtime, he can explore the whole game within his time limit. While the game stages can be small, the game can still be very enjoyable as the time and method of completing one is entirely up to the player’s skill.

Bob, who likes to play Starcraft which require strategy, conservation and patience, will also like to play our game as it contains those same aspects Starcraft has. He will like the overall mechanic of using the given light source strategically.

Leave a Reply

